WILLIAM ZHOU

The Israeli-Palestinian War 
Has Hurt My Feet

The Palestinian-Israeli War 
has once again erupted into modern brutality
The missiles targeted clearance of human life
The bombs destroyed the entire building
Soldiers are shooting soldiers hatefully
Soldiers also killing civilians hatefully
The hatred of history is deeply rooted and leafy
The newly added hatred encircling and suppressing peace
The Jerusalem I've visited and read
The Gaza Strip that I have never set foot in
Both suffering from hurting and pain in the war
Pain, infecting the Earth
Pain, climbed onto my foot yesterday
The suffering of Palestine and Israel has transformed into
my gout, it has imprisoned me at Qianmen Hotel
I have to bear the pain of life
I have to endure this pain of nature
I can't go home, but I still have a home
No matter how painful, my home and life are still alive
Palestinians and Israelis in War
Home and life are turning into ruins

On October 12, 2023, at 3:16 am, Qianmen Hotel, Beijing

At This Moment
People In Gaza Are Dying

The suffering of history has sprouted
The hatred of race has bloomed
Bloomed, blood bloomed, death bloomed
Missiles, drones, tanks, submachine guns
These killing science and technologies Human invented 
Destroying the peace that Palestinians dream of

Mothers, died in the collapsed buildings
Children, bleeding in fear
Hospitals, bombed out crazily
Sadness, drifting on Earth
At this moment, Gaza is being ravaged by war
At this moment, I can only write my sadness and anger

Can Jesus' sacrifice save humanity?
Why does religion also lead to disputes and hatred?
The manipulation of politicians conceals 
the insidiousness of self-interest
The generals' achievements are stained 
with the blood of common people

I imagine to use my painful body eagerly
to resist a bullet for Gaza people
I want to use my sorrowful heart eagerly
to turn over this page of human suffering	

On Nov 8, 2023, at 4:18 am, on bed 

WILLIAM ZHOU

WILLIAM ZHOU, has studied and written poetry for over 30 years and published Chinese, English and translated works in literary newspapers and magazines both at home and abroad. He won the domestic literature award 4 times and the international literature award 3 times. He published 2 books of Chinese poetry and 2 books of Chinese English bilingual Poems. He was invited to attend the World Congress of Poets 9 times.

Leave a comment