KUJTIM HAJDARI

We Resemble Each Other, Dear Moon 

Bloody corpses of frozen children,
Mothers' cries drowning in pain and tears,
Soulless monsters with frozen minds,
Neither the world nor the pain can stop them.

Don't look at me, dear moon, as if I'm insane,
This time makes me resemble the mad ones,
These things happening in this sick world,
Continue to torment life, endlessly.

Again tonight, in the news, war, murder, and crimes,
I felt emptiness in my chest, and my spirit froze,
I stepped outside as I felt suffocated in my room,
And I reached out for a hand to warm me from the sky.

And the light, from the high stars, that came warm,
It seemed to cry endlessly with tears,
And in my ears it sounded: "Rest in peace"
Every victim's soul in the immortal world.

The whole world around me tightens,
And the voices of pain lead me to abysses,
Under the heavy shadow of committed crimes,
Where children, races, and tribes suffer and die.

Don't look at me, dear moon, so distorted,
There are days when I too am faded like you,
When pain mercilessly crushes our hearts,
Yellowed and hardened, we resemble each other.
Kujtim Hajdari

Stop The War!

And the entire sky and earth,
Ignited by the planes of death,
More crimes and deaths,
From the hot heads of the vultures. 

Look at the child, you criminals,
Listen to the screams they utter,
Is there any blood left in your veins?
Brutes, fighting against the wretched.

Oh bloodthirsty ones, oh feeble minds,
This angel you follow with fire,
With flames and killer bullets,
Will chase you until the grav.

There is only one thing left in this world,
And everyone in the world is after it,
And you, and I, who remain silent today,
When shamelessly and soullessly they attack.

Stop the war, you monsters!
Cursed world that closes its eyes,
Thousands of children left like corpses,
Will this madness swallow and suffocate them?
Kujtim Hajdari

Keep Quiet, My Son Is Sleeping.
(Scene from the Israel-Palestine war)

She screamed, pulled her hair, and tore her shawl,
Then left the road and rushed inside with a sprint:
"Hush...! My son is sleeping, keep quiet!"
The coldness of death, she touched with blood lips.

"They are all asleep!" she counted with her eyes,
Lifeless angelic bodies, with wounds and blue stains,
She didn't saw the tears when they followed her there,
"He will wake up, I will wait for him, I will stay here"

She sat down, caressed and kissed the cold body,
Covered the wounds with pieces of the shawl,
No more tears shed, no more tears left,
Just silently caressed under the shadow of mourning.

She lost everyone, now she had her only child,
Wherever she went, protect him like a treasure,
But the vultures found the little one's trace,
They left the mother alone with living pain.
Kujtim Hajdari

KUJTIM HAJDARI

KUJTIM HAJDARI was born in Hajdaraj on April 10, 1956 in the city of Lushnja in Albania. He completed his university studies in Albanian language and literature in Albania. He worked as a literature teacher in high school. He has been in exile in Italy for years and since 2010 he has also become an Italian citizen. Now live in USA. He has written many volumes of poetry in Albanian and the last in Italian and English. He has participated in many international competitions where he has had several appreciations and awards as: The CUP of the special prize of the “GOLDEN PAGES OF ITALIAN POETRY” 2018. FIRST PRIZE for the diaspora of the Poetry Festival in Albania, 2019. The CUP of prize of the magazine “World poets and their poetry” in Romania, 2020. FINALIST in 7 places in “Europian Poetry Championship” 2020. He was awarded the title ARTISTIC HONOR OF THE DIASPORA in 2021, by “Jehona Shqiptare” for his contribution to the National Poetry Festival in Albania, edition 4, as the Deputy Chairman of the Festival. He is elected member of the evaluation committee of poets participating in the national poetry festival to be held in 2023, organised by “Jehona Shqiptare” in Albania. Up to now, with his poems he is part of 58 national and international anthologies. His poems have been published in many newspapers in his country and abroad.

Leave a comment