FRANCO CARTA

To Hiba Kamal Abu Nada 

Write your name on a stone
while you are alive so that others
they don't do it for you after your death.

Mourning is a silence for the birds
but I don't know if that's why they sing.
I don't know if trees are happier.
I don't know if there is joy in the deserts.

I was afraid of the dark night.
Illuminated by the glare of the darts
sparks that lashed like executioners,
and the noise of the barrels until late.
© Franco Carta

The Arghul

I'm leaving because the smell of the earth still calls me,
I will do it with all my determination.
I won't stop, I won't look back,
The shadows of the vines await me, I won't look back,
The smell of boiled coffee is still there, where I go,
I hear the echo of the Arghul calling to me and, inside me,
the poems of the farmers at harvest time.
How fragile life is when we live poems in estrangement,
when the only thing separating us from them is the fence
surrounding our clouds,
our land, our sky, our rain.
Don't cry for me Palestine
Maybe one day the tears will take wings!
© Franco Carta

Caress Flower

Caress flower,
ah, flower of malice.
Why did you joke with the militia?
What is the price of your life?
What weight does your opinion have?
The opinion of all those people
who prays for peace in all religions.
But how much blood is shed
without it happening any change?

Flower of malice,
ah, flower of torture
the desperation of being hurt,
of losing friends.
The confusion,
the smell of gas,
The thunder of bombs
ears ringing and burning eyes
how to predict
the hand that torments me
the hand that shoots me
and what was done there,
with my clothes, with my pride.
Honor is something
who doesn't undress just say goodbye.
Humiliation, however,
lives naked.
Power wears a uniform use weapon.

Ah flower of malice,
silent flower of caress...
nowhere in any world.
Ah, flower of malice,
silent flower of caress...
© Franco Carta


FRANCO CARTA

FRANCO CARTA was born in Cagliari in 1961, has practiced the dental medical profession since 1986, and has collaborated as a volunteer with the “Operazione Africa” organization of the Jesuit Fathers since 2011. he writes poems in Sardinian vernacular and stories and poems in Italian. He is known by the pseudonym Hybrid Poet. He has published three poetic anthologies Numerous participations in cultural events, poetry festivals, publications in anthologies of poetry in the vernacular and in Italian, in anthologies of Poems and Stories in the vernacular and in Italian and winner of national and local awards and mentions. He is an expert juror in national poetry competitions.

Leave a comment