CHRISTOS DIKBASANIS

Today Let’s Love And Be Loved

Today let's fly, get rid of
the faces of hate 
of anger, injustice, discrimination
Today let's love each other
Today let's smile
for the first time, every time
let it be the first time
to the shells, in the stars
to equality, in brotherhood
to the pure–real love
Today let us kneel
on the mile-long pavement of our lives 
and let us pray together with our brothers
all the citizens of the stars
beyond languages, religions, tribes
special or unusual qualities
preferences, choices
Today let's love and be loved
because we all have the same nails
in our hands and feet
because we, 
all the creatures of the Universe
have the same Golgotha to climb

Oh, My Friend!

My brave friend
if someday you come visit me
at my white tomb
don't bring me flowers
which wither immediately
Bring me your feet
that walked along with mine
to the ends of the Earth
Bring me your hands
who fought alongside mine
at the ends of the Universe
for a few crumbs of freedom
Bring me your body
which was badly received along with mine
when otherworldly forms struggled to destroy
our dreams and desires
Bring me your mouth
that shouted out hymns of victory
along with mine
Bring me your eyes
to looked in awe
at the beauty of unknown places
along with mine
Bring me your face that hurt so much
Due to the envy, the hatred, the malice of the world
along with mine
Bring your memories
of all those insurmountable moments
that we lived together
and beat my forgetfulness
Oh! my devoted friend
if you can't give me all that
then just bring to me
the Spring of your tears!

The Gates Of Independdence

They needed our annihilation
The countless enemies
of our dreams
our beautiful life 
and the place of our dreams
seek our loss
through the dirty hands of strangers
Even if Spring had come
they would drive her out with fires
They wanted to make us ghosts
of an otherwise colorful era
to lead us into the dark realms of slavery
light years away
from our freedom
But now
the gates of eternal triumph
are wide open for us to walk
inland of glory
of independence
and immortal memories

CHRISTOS DIKBASANIS

CHRISTOS DIKBASANIS is a poet, writer and scholar of religions. He was born in Thessaloniki, where he graduated from the Theological School of the Aristotle University. He holds a Master’s Degree from the Theological School with a specialization in Religious Studies. It has also been included in the “Great Encyclopedia of Modern Greek Literature” of Haris Patsi publications and in the “Who’s Who” of journalists. He has been honored with many national and international awards for his poems.

Leave a comment